23rd All Odisha QC Convention 2018 & NALCO Utkal Gaurav Madhusudan Das Quality Award 

Bhubaneswar: The All Odisha Quality Circle Convention, a flagship event on Quality in the state, was organised by NALCO for the 23rd successive year today at NALCO Nagar, Bhubaneswar. This premier “Annual Quality Event” in the State, is being organised by NALCO since 1996 with the aim of spreading the Quality Movement amongst the industrial organisations in the State. It provides a platform for mutual learning through case study presentation to encourage implementation of the quality practices among organisations operating in Odisha. With Total Productive Maintenance (TPM) being adopted by many organisations, the Convention also encourages participation of TPM Circles. 8 Quality Circles and 7 TPM Circles from 10 different industrial units of Odisha participated in the Convention. In honour of Utkal Gaurav Madhusudan Das, NALCO has instituted a state level QUALITY AWARD based on Business Excellence model criteria to recognise units from manufacturing sector operating in ODISHA for their TQM implementation process & the results achieved. Dr. Tapan Kumar  Chand , CMD,  NALCO was the Chief Guest in the concluding function and gave away the prizes & quality awards to the winning teams & organisations. Dr. Chand said, ‘’All the participating teams must pledge to take quality movement to further heights in the state. There is abundant potential for unleashing creativity in the workplace but the same needs to be channelised in the right direction.’’The Winning teams were felicitated in the Prize giving ceremony. The NALCO Trophy for Quality Circle Competition was won by QC Miracle of NALCO while the NALCO Trophy for TPM Circles was won by Jaguar of JKPM, Rayagada.   The NALCO Madhusudan Quality Award for 2018 was conferred on:LARGE INDUSTRY CATEGORY:  BALASORE ALLOYS, Balgopalpur
MEDIUM INDUSTRY CATEGORY:  MANISHRI REFRACTORIES &     CERAMICS(P) Ltd., Cuttack SMALL INDUSTRY CATEGORY:  AMRITESH INDUSTRIES Pvt. Ltd, Angul            An award for SERVICE QUALITY was also given to Shri Aswini Kumar Behera, Constable CISF for his dedicated service. Among others, Shri K.C.Samal, Director (Finance), Shri V. Balasubramanyam, Director (Production), Shri. B.K.Thakur, Director (HR), Shri S.K.Roy Director (Projects & Technical) and Shri Pradip Kumar Mishra, Director (Commercial) were also notably present.

Comments are closed.