Home page
Orissa Profile
NGOs List
Emergency Service
Important Org.
Oriya Cuisine
News Media

Biju Pattanaik ( 1916-1997)

Biju Pattanaik was a trained pilot of acknowledged competence. Had special interest in Science and Technology and was responsible for instituting the prestigious  International  Kalinga Prize. He was the pioneer of Industrial movement in Orissa and was the head of Air Transport command during the war  (1940-42). An indefatigable freedom fighter, he led  the underground movement for freedom of the country along with Shri Jayaprakash Narayan, Dr. Ram Mohan Lohia and others. Landed first platoon of troops in Srinagar during attack by Pakistani raiders. Suceeded in safely airlifting the Indonesia leaders during war. He was honoured by the Indonesia Govt. as “BHUMIPUTRA”. Elected to Orissa Legislative Assembly from 1952. Chief Minister of Orissa from 1961-1963 and 1990-1995. Member, Rajya Sabha 1980-1984 and 11th Lok Sabha from 1996-1997. Union Minister of Steel from July 1977 to January 1980. He had the distinction of laying the basic infrastructure for development of Orissa. Special mention could be made of Paradeep Port, MIG Factory at Sunabeda,  Ferro Silicon Complex at  Theruvali, Hydro Electric Power Project Balimela. Thermal Power Station, Talcher, Engineering College, Rourkela, Engineering College and Medical College at Burla, Express High Way linking Dairari with Paradeep, Sainik School, Regional College of Education, Bhubaneswar, Regional Research Laboratory of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research, Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology and many others.
He was a great visionary who worked relentlessly for the uplift of the people of Orissa.

Jai Rajguru Utkal Gourav Madhusudan Das Pandit Gopabandhu Das Nilakantha Das Biswanath Das
Gajapati Maharaja Krushna Chandra Dev Raja Artatran Deo Biju Pattanaik Chandra Sekhar Behera
Dr. Harekrushna Mahatab Rajendra Narayan Singh Deo Shri Ramachandra Bhanja Dev Chakara Bisoi
| About Us | Feedback | Advertise with us | Contact us |
Copyright © by www.orissadiary.com All rights reserved.