Orissa Government raises merit scholarship for students
Friday, August 20, 2010
Orissa Government raises merit scholarship for students

Report by Orissa Diary correspondent, Bhubaneswar: In a bid to encourage meritorious post-metric students to pursue higher education, the state government on Friday effected substantial hike in the merit scholarship schemes existing in the state.

The decision came after a high-level meeting chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik here at state secretariat on Friday.

The state government raised the amount of merit scholarship of intermediate, degree, post graduate and technical education students in the state.

As per the revised scholarship scheme, the students under the Junior Merit Scholarship (+2) scheme would get Rs 300 per month as compared to Rs 40 per month.

Under the Senior Merit Scholarship (+3), the students would get Rs 500 per month against the existing Rs 50 per month. For award under the PG Merit Scholarship (PG), the students would get Rs 1000 per month against the existing Rs 60 per month.

Similarly, the technical education students would get Rs 10,000 per annum. The technical education students include—engineering, medical, dental, agriculture and veterinary students.

With the revised scheme, around 5000 intermediate students, 1000 degree students, 500 post graduate students and 10, 000 technical students would be benefited. The eligible students can apply to the Higher Education Department through their respective colleges to avail the scholarship. The government has decided to pay the scholarship amount through banks.

As per government guidelines, scholarships will be paid only to those students whose parent’s/guardian’s income from all sources does not exceed Rs 4.5 lakh per annum, for all categories under the scheme. Earlier, the annual income limit was Rs 24, 000.

The government would initiate awareness progremmes on the scholarship schemes and ensure that it is properly executed, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said.

Apart from chief minister, Higher Education and Tourism Minister Devi Mishra, Principal Secretary to CM Bijay Kumar Patnaik, Additional Development Commissioner Rabi Narayan Senapati, Finance Secretary Jugal Kishore Mohapatra, and Higher Education Secretary Madhusudan Padhi were also present.

Image Gallery
Connect Us
Copyright © & owned by OMIS Private Limited. All rights reserved. Designed & Developed by OMIS Private Limited.
Server hosted at Suryanandan.Net